Hitandrunonline’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wednesday Night Poker Report #8. The road to redemption

As bad as last wednesday was, this wednesday night was really fantastic.  Unbelievable night.  Won everything that I lost last week back and then some.  I was on a rush and I gotta tell ya, IT FELT GOOD! I was really feeling low and dejected after last week, but now Im pumped up, money wise and confidence wise.  Lets get to the HIGHlights. 

Sat down at the early cash game and bought in for $60.  Full table of 9 players.  Now for some reason, I really stink at a full cash game table.  Don’t know why, but I seem to never catch any cards to battle with and this time was no exception.  After 1 hour I haven’t won a hand and Im down $60.  Thank goodness 4 other players show up and I go to the 2nd table, 5 handed.  Buy in for $40.  I already have $100 invested and haven’t even played 2 hours yet.  This session goes a little better..can you believe I actually go the Ace of Spades on high chicago?  Haven’t had that in weeks.  Win several small pots in omaha hi/low.  After an hour Im up $30 for the session..down 30 for the night. 

And then it happened…the game was POT LIMIT OMAHA.  A game that never gets called…possibly because it can break you for the night in one hand.  Omaha has a way of teasing a player..giving him just enough of a hand to follow all the way to the river…then BAM!!..you DROWN!..or maybe….just maybe…that boat fills up with MONEY!.  Here we go: 

Game:  Pot limit Omaha 2/4.  Starting hand 4d 4h Kd Kh decent starting hand double suited. 5 players.  Under the gun bets the pot, next player calls, I call.  Both blinds fold, 3 players left.   Flop = Qs 4c 7c.  Well I’ve hit trips on the flop.  Both players in front of me bet the pot.  It’s $77 to me and I call…Damn what a pot! Turn = 10h..Both players bet the pot…player to my left goes all in…I call.  Im 99% sure both are on a flush draw.  River = Qc…WOW!  There’s my boat.  1st player goes all in for $20…naturally Im gonna call.  Now at this point the pot is right around $300 or $400.  What Im worrying about is 4 queens or someone has a Q/10, Q4, Q7…but if Im beat …Im beat….cards turn over and just as I thought…both players hit their flush draws…MY FULL HOUSE WINS….WOW.  That game pretty much broke up the cash game.  After cashing in my chips and counting the bankroll, Im now UP $100…unbelievable. 

Tournament:  $50 freezeout.  12 players.  Im still on a rush from the pot limit omaha game.  Basically I played like Junk.  Never got a hand.  3 levels in I hit a pair of 10’s on the flop.  Player after me goes all in and I call.  He turns over a pair of deuces that trips him up.  They hold on and Im out.  Hey Im still up $50 and everyone is still talking about that pot limit omaha hand. 

Late night cash game: Bought in for $50.  Play tight, try to win one big hand an hour.  I actually stayed with it this week.  Won a couple of chicago pots.  Scooped once when I got the Ace of spades AGAIN..thats 3 times tonight.  Then I went on a roll that can only be described as the spade flush, after flush, after flush.  The game was omaha high only.  Great starting hands 3 times in a row.  As Qs, nut flush…As 2s…nut flush….As Ks..nut flush….Unbelievable…3 big pots in a row.  Look down at my stack and Im up $200. 

Game:  $3/$5 Seven Card Stud/low card in the hole wild/Roll the first one/last card costs $5 to turn it up.  My first 3 cards…2d 2h 7h…Nice…I roll the 7 over.  Bets all around.  4th street = 5s…Bets around…I still have to call.  5th street = 2c….wow…okay 4 7’s right now..but in this game that can be beat.  6 players till in and I have to call.  6th street = 8h…okay that seemed to scare everybody….which it should..I’ve got a straight flush now..(7h..8h…my 3 wild cards = 9h ..10h..Jh…)  I bet out…2 players fold…4 players in.  7th street = I take the card down since there isn’t any card that could be lower than my pair of deuces.  7th street = 7 SPADES…WOW!. it’s all i can do to keep a straight face.  1st player bets out, next player folds, next player calls, I RAISE it to $10…1st player calls, next player raises it …I take the last raise…1st player folds…next player calls…turn em up…my 5 7’s beat 4 aces.   WOOO!…

I play tight the rest of the night.  Mostly split some pots the rest of the night.  We quit at 3am…after counting up the bankroll…Im up ……$320…whew…Unbelievable night.  Made up for last week and then some.  Couldn’t come at a better time since the Tunica trip is next weekend.

The ups and downs of poker never cease to amaze me.  From the lowest of lows last week, to the highest of highs this week.  Its unbelievable.  Never boring…maybe thats the secret to the popularity. 

 

There may not be a wednesday night poker report next week.  Im off to Tunica on Thursday oct 23rd..May try to rest up for the long drive.  However, I will try to have a full report on our trip by no later than Tuesday oct 28.

October 16, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | 6 Comments