Hitandrunonline’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Weekly Wednesday Night Poker Report #9, 3rd place is just the first loser

Hello everyone.  Time for another wednesday night poker report.  We had 20 players for a $50 freezeout. Lets get to the highlights. 

 

Feeling a little ill this week.  I decided to just show up for the tourney and skip the early/late cash games this week.  $50 freezeout.  Bought in about 8:30 and got the tournament underway.  Nothing much happening in the first hour.  Fold, fold, fold, then I looked down and saw pocket 8’s on the button.   I call and the flop comes 2h 5d 8s.  Blinds are at 100/200,  3 players check to me and i bet out 400.  2 callers.  Turn = Qs.   1 player checks, the next bets  200.  I raise it to 600.  1 folder, 1 call.  Heads up, he either has queens or is on a flush draw. River = 3h.  He checks and I bet 1000, call and I turn over trips to his 2 pair.

Next hand:  6s/7s  Late position.  blinds 100/200.  I call. Flop = 10h 5s 8s…..WOW..I’ve flopped a straight AND a straight flush draw.  Big blind bets with 2 callers including me.  3 players to the turn.  Turn = 9h.  Well I’ve hit my straight except there’s a chance my straight will be beat by a bigger straight.  Big blind bets, Early position folds and I call.  Heads up to the River.  River = Jd.  Okay still have a straight but I can be beat by a Q.  Big blind checks…smells like a trap to me so I check as well….unbelievable..he turns over 2 pair….and I turn over the straight.  Should have bet there but….a win is a win is a win.

Next hand: As/10s on the button.  blinds are 400/800.  Stack = 14,000. Folds all around to me, and see a good chance at stealing the blinds.  I raise to 1600.  To my amazement and dismay both blinds call.  Flop = 9s Qd 8d….Check, check, I check as well.  Turn = 2s…check, check, I decide to test the waters and bet out 800.  Both call, Im figuring Im beat.  River = Jc…well that made my straight but there’s a lot of cards out there that beat me.  Both blinds check and I turn over my straight.  It’s good.  Whew!

Next hand:As/10s Big blind.  Blinds = 500/1000. Stack = 18000 est. Folks starting to tighten up now.  We’re down to 10 players.  1 more and we go to the final table.  Folds around to the button who calls, small blind folds.  I notice the button has around 2000 left.  I decide to raise it and put him all in.  He calls.  Turns over Ks jc.  Heads up…probably %55 to %45.  Flop = Ad 2s 5c.  Good flop.  He’ll need runner runner….Turn = 10d…theres the dagger.  I win and we go to the final table.  Good lesson here is to always pay attention to other player’s chip stacks.  If you get a chance to knock em out…YOU TAKE IT!!

Final Table:  9 players.  Chip stack = 25000 est.  Im about 7th in chips.  But with the blinds going up so fast that can change in a hurry.  I hang on like an alligator for the first 30 minutes and then we get down to 5 players.  I look down in the big blind and find Ad/Ah.  WOW…I got 7000 chips and go ALL IN….I get called by 2 players.  All 3 of us are all in…Im in for 7000, next player in for 5000, and the least in for 3000.  At least I won’t be out if I lose.  Flop comes 5c 4h Kd….Turn = 10s….River = Jc.  I’ve got pair of aces, next player has trip 4’s….he gets the small pot…the other player has Jacks and he’s out.  In our tournament when we get down to 4 everyone gets their $50 back and the table is open for deals.  We agree to take $100 apiece and play for the rest.  Unfortunately for me…I didn’t catch another hand….1 player went out before me and then I was forced to go all in with a good buddy hand (10h 4c) and I was out in 3rd place.  The other 2 players split what was left of the pot, $480. 

Not a bad tournament.  Went home $50 winner. When the blinds get up like that…it really comes down to pure ol luck and timing.  No matter your chipstack…when those blinds get up to 8000/16000 …ya gotta get the cards to do battle. 

So long for now…Im going to take another dose of Nyquil

Till next time….

November 6, 2008 Posted by | Wednesday night poker | 2 Comments